Motif Music Award Winners

Motif received a record number of votes this year – 6,363! – proving your passion for local music. Thanks to everyone who attended the Music Awards (Tuesday, May 8), and watch for Motif’s next issue for more information about all the winners.

Overall Americana: Ian Fitzgerald and Something Else

Best Alt Act: The Copacetics

Hip-Hop Act: The Funk Underground

Alt Album: Hope Anchor “Beautiful Corpses”
Americana Album: John Juxo, “Long Distance Driver”

Americana Singer/Songwriter: Briana White

Female Americana Vocalist: Tara Hansen
Male Americana Vocalist: Mark Cutler
Bluegrass Band: Cactus Attack
Breakthrough Act: How’s About Charlie?
Blues Act: Popa Chubby
Choral Act: Providence Gay Men’s Chorus
Folk Act: Wilbur Hill
Jazz: Dan Moretti
World Music: The Gnomes
Street Band: Brass Attack
Best Open Mic: Tuesdays at the Parlour
Americana Festival: Newport Folk
Best Live Act: Eric & the Nothing
Reggae/Ska: Natural Element
Jam Band: Daddie Long Legs
Garage Band: Eric & the Nothing
Post Punk/Goth: Hope Anchor
Pop Punk: Senior Discount
Punk: Hairspray Queen
Hardcore/Metal: Olneyville Sound System
Female Vocalist: Malyssa BellaRosa
Male Vocalist: Steve Delmonico
Breakthrough Act: Sugar Cones
Tribute Band: Dirty Deeds
Cover Band: Sybil Disobedience
Karoke Night: Friday at the Parlour PVD
Alt/Rock Festival: PVD Fest
Breakthrough Hip-Hop: Toad and the Stooligans
R&B: Steve Smith & the Nakeds
EDM DJ: DJ Venom
Club DJ: Pauly Danger
Dance Night: Soul Power @ Dusk
Club Photography: Eric Johnson
There are a lot of people to thank for the amazing event last night – not least of which are School of Rock Seekonk for a rousing start, Cowboy and Lady for a stunning performance and Hope Anchor for rocking the house. Check social media for all the folks involved, and of course thanks to MCs John Fuzek and Bettysioux Tailor for holding it all together, and to all the event sponsors – the MET, Narragansett Brewers and the amazing musician prizes provided by National Sound Studio.

Leave a Reply

Prove that you are human *

Previous post:

Next post: