Motif Music Awards

2018 Motif Music Award Nominees

music awards web post header

Voting is closed, but please join us on Tuesday, May 8th at The Met for the awards!! Doors open at 6pm!

There was a record number of voters this year at 6,363. Thank you to all who voted!


Best Act
Consuelo’s Revenge
Ian Fitzgerald & Something Else
The Horse-Eyed Men
The Huntress and Holder of Hands
The Quahogs
Vudu Sister

Briana White
Chrissy Stewart
Dean Petrella
Ian Fitzgerald
Jodie Treloar
Kris Hansen
Mark Cutler
Nate Cozzolino

Female Vocalist
Amanda Salemi (Consuelo’s Revenge)
Aubrey Atwater (Atwater-Donnelly)
Jen Long (SwampBirds)
Jess Powers (Cowboy & Lady)
Jodie Treloar
Kim Trusty (Kim Trusty Band)
MorganEve Swain (The Huntress and Holder of Hands)
Shannon Corey
Tara Hansen (Man & Wife)

Male Vocalist
Elwood Donnelly (Atwater- Donnelly)
Ian Fitzgerald (Ian Fitzgerald & Something Else)
Mark Cutler (Mark Cutler and Men of Great Courage)
Steve Delmonico (The Quahogs)
Tyler-James Kelly (Cowboy & Lady)

Bluegrass Band
Blackstone Valley
Bluegrass Band
Cactus Attack
Four Bridges
Lizzie James and the
Greystone Rail
Wilbur Hill

Breakthrough Act
Avi Jacob
How’s About Charlie
Lainey Dionne

Blues Act
Black & White Band
Cannibal Ramblers
Popa Chubby
Sugar Ray & the Bluetones
The Low Cards
The Silks
Tim Taylor Blues Band

Choral Act
Assembly of Light Choir
Newman Church Choir
Providence Gay Men’s Chorus
Providence Singers
RI Civic Chorale

Folk Act
The Horse-Eyed Men
Cardboard Ox
Cheryl Wheeler
Haunt the House
The Vox Hunters
Wilbur Hill

Baba Yaga
Ben Shaw
Dan Moretti
Greg Abate
Joe Potenza Quartet
The John Allmark Jazz Orchestra

R & B
Keytar Bear
The Love Dogs
Steve Smith & the Nakeds
Superchief Trio
World Premier Band

World Music
Bohemian Quartet
Chachi & The International Players
Chris Monti Trio
Eastern Medicine Singers
The Gnomes
Sidy Maiga

Street Band / Brass Band / Marching Band
Black Out Drum Squad
Brass Attack
ERB (Extraordinary Rendition Band)
The Kickin Brass Band
TAPA Percussion Ensemble
What Cheer? Brigade

Open Mic
10 Rocks Jazz Jam
Madcap Mondays @ Dusk
Open Mic Tuesdays @ The Parlour in PVD
Songwriter’s Open Mic @ Perks & Corks
Two Hundo Broadway Open Mic @ The Parlor in Newport
Open Mic Tuesdays @ Wharf Pub
Sundays at the Wood @ Wood River Inn

Americana Album
Brian McKenzie / “Bruising from the Fall”
Dan Blakeslee / “The Alley Walker”
The Huntress and Holder of Hands / “Avalon”
John Juxo / “Long Distance Driver”
Mike Laureanno / “TIGHTROPE”
Phil Adams / “Pieces of Her”
The Swampbirds / “no parentheses”

Best Americana Festival
BRT Summer Solstice Festival
Newport Folk Festival
Newport Jazz Festival
Rhythm & Roots Festival
United Folk Festival of Westerly
Warren Folk Fest
Providence Folk Fest


Best Act
Arc Iris
The Copacetics
Hope Anchor
The Low Cards
Math the Band
Roz & The Rice Cakes
Tall Teenagers

Best Live Act
Atlantic Thrills
Eric & the Nothing
Torn Shorts
The Viennagram
The Worried
The Z-Boys

Reggae / SKA
Boo City
The Mystic Jammers
Natural Element
Professor Roots
Soul Shot

Jam Band
The Cosmic Factory
Daddie Long Legs
Most Dangerous Men Alive
Northeast Traffic
The Stupid Robots

Garage Band
Atlantic Thrills
Eric & the Nothing
The Hangovers
Harvey Garbage
Jets Can’t Land
The Really Heavy
Seven Hats Parade
Sick Pills
Tall Teenagers

Post Punk / Goth Act
Alek K Redfearn & the Eyesores
Hope Anchor
The Viennagram
Vudu Sister

Pop Punk Act
Karis Owen
The Callouts
The Essays
Senior Discount
Sweet Babylon
Ten Cents Short

Punk Act
Hairspray Queen
Harvey Garbage
The Inhumanoids
The McGunks
Tony Jones & the Cretin 3
Zero Holds

Hardcore / Metal Act
The Black Dove Social Club
Blind Revision
Lolita Black
Olneyville Sound System
Reason to Fight

Female Vocalist
Chelsea Paulhus (Tall Teenagers)
Jen Janet (Blind Revision)
Jess Maroney (Nymphidels)
Malyssa BellaRosa (Sugar Cones)
Missa Hills (The Callouts)
Scarlett Delgado (Lolita Black)
Tai Awolaju (Boo City)
Tammy Laforest (The Dust Ruffles)

Male Vocalist
AV Vienna (The Viennagram)
Damian Puerini (Tall Teenagers)
Dave Laros (Blackletter)
Eric Shane (Eric and the Nothing)
Paul Everett (Hope Anchor)
Steve Delmonico (The Quahogs)

Bill Keough / “You’ll Disappear Just Like They All Do”
The Complaints / “Talk To Me”
Hope Anchor / “Beautiful Corpses”
Kilgore Smudge / “Kilgore”
The Lincoln Tunnel / “Phone This One In”
The Low Cards / Self-Titled
Nobody’s Boyscout / “In Tongues”
Roz & the Rice Cakes / “Devotion”

Breakthrough Act
Harvey Garbage
Nobody’s Boyscout
Nova One
People Eating Plastic
The Shakes
Sugar Cones
Zoink Zulag
& The Galactic Shag

Tribute Band
Dirty Deeds (AC/DC)
Forever Young (Neil Young)
Hey Nineteen (Steely Dan)
Through the Doors (The Doors)
Wicked Petty (Tom Petty)

Cover Band
Atlantic Avenue Band
Fat City Band
Never Enuff
The O’Tooles
The Pogs
The Senders
Sybil Disobedience Band
Tanya McIntyre & The Professors
What Matters?

Karaoke Night
Friday Night Karaoke @ The Parlour PVD
Hot Club Monday @ The Hot Club
Saturday @ Muldowney’s
Sunday @ Miller’s Crossing
Trivioke @ The BoomBox
WRIK Saturday @ Picasso’s Pizza

Best ALT / Rock Festival
4th of July Revival Fest
Foo Fest
Forge Fest


Hip-Hop Act
Eric Axelman
Hil Holla
The Funk Underground
Spocka Summa
Sun of Sound

Breakthrough Hip-Hop Act
Cam Bells
Lily Rayne
Nino Da Kidd
Toad and the Stooligans

DJ Oscar Champagne
DJ Pauly Danger
DJ Venom
DJ Zydrate
Joey Electric
Michael Savant

Best Club DJ
DJ Beáto
DJ Dymand Teixeira
DJ Handsome Pete
DJ Pauly Danger
DJ Ty Jesso
The Westminster Yacht Club DJs
Where’s Nasty

Best Dance Night
Desirenegade Night @ Scurvy Dog
Island Saturdays @ Alchemy
POW! Indie Dance Party @ Dusk
Soul Power @ Dusk
Wattzbeatz @ The Salon

Photo / Photography
Damian Zed Meneghini
James Lastowski
Lisa Gourley
Matthew Fratiello
Richard McCaffrey
Rick Farrell